I was writing in my journal the other day and I had an interesting thought. I know that we are many things to God. We’re his children, his ambassadors, his servants, his bride. But they I pondered, could we be God’s weapons, tools for fighting evil? Of course upon thinking this, I thought of Haku from Naruto and Yukine from Noragami, two boys who became weapons for their masters.

What struck me about those two characters, were their position of submission to their masters. They serve their Masters with eagerness and dedication, and that’s quiet admirable. But the difference between these two characters is their moral alignment.

2115344-169_narutoshipp_unsg_abuzahaku_ot_multi_030612

Although Haku may be considered to be on the wrong side of the moral line, his dedication to Zabuza is none less noble then Yukine’s. Haku’s selflessness and willingness to so easily giving up his life for Zabuza caused Zabuza to realize that they were in two completely different moral playing fields. Zabuza believed that even thought he was such an awful man, Haku was not, and Haku would go someplace far better then he would after death. Haku was the perfect weapon wielded by a corrupt weapon’s master. Zabuza didn not think Haku would not have to pay the price for his own sins. But… I’m not sure how I feel about that logic.

maxresdefault

“You were always at my side, the least I can do is to be beside you at the end. I know it cannot be, but I wish I could go to where you have gone. How I wish I could join you there, Haku.” – Zabuza

Although his will to peruse his master and his master’s intentions is admirable in it’s magnitude, Haku chooses to give his body and life to be used as a weapon because Zabuza was the first person to give him an answer to his existence. No matter how passionately you devote yourself to something, that devotion is corrupted by the immorality of whom you’re following. You can’t follow a man but disagree with his intentions.

Zabuza: My time here is done, Haku. Tonight, I cast aside the Land of Water. One day, I will return and seize this land and hold it in my hands. Many things must me done before that day comes, and you will help me to do them. But I warn you: Friendship, comfort, encouragement. I do not need these things, nor should you expect them from me.

Haku: I understand. I am yours, Zabuza. I am only an instrument of your will. Think of me as a weapon to be held at your side and used as you see fit.

Zabuza: …Well said, child.

Obviously Haku had blind faith in Zabuza. He didn’t see how Zabuaza was an evil man, or even how wrong it was that Zabuza was really just using him for his kekkei genkai. He seamed numb to those facts, forgetting about them because he was so overcome with thankfulness for Zabuza for giving him a purpose… he forgot the value of his own life. He gave up his life to be seen as a weapon.

1447220448-b60680d1ec39f7aaf3c39482be8d7494

“When a person has something important they want to protect… that’s when they can become truly strong.” – Haku

Haku believed he was strong because he protected someone dear to him. But did he love Zabuza, or did he love what Zabuza meant to him? How can one have strength that’s pure if that strength comes from something evil and corrupt? I mean, Zabuza was called the “Demon of the Hidden Mist”. He sounds like a pretty bad guy for someone who was so pure to follow. Haku’s logic is simple to a fault.

Let’s take a look at Proverbs…

Proverbs 14:15

“The simple believes everything, but the prudent gives thought to his steps.”

And look what James says…

James 2:14-17

“What good is it, my brothers, if someone says he has faith but does not have works? Can that faith save him? If a brother or sister is poorly clothed and lacking in daily food, and one of you says to them, “Go in peace, be warmed and filled,” without giving them the things needed for the body, what good is that? So also faith by itself, if it does not have works, is dead.”

Haku perused Zabuza lovingly and intentionally. Yes, he had many works he dedicated to his master, but they were pointless. His dedication meant nothing since it just resulted in evil acts.

tumblr_n015cms9lC1sr1be8o1_500

Yukine became a Hafuri Vessel for Yato, similar to how Haku risked his life for Zabuza taking a fatal blow for him. Haku would have been a Blessed Regalia if he lived in the same world as Yukine. What makes Yukine’s dedication different from Haku’s, is that Yukine saw the good in Yato and made a conscious decision to return Yato’s sacrifice and accept his duty as his weapon. Although Yato is a spaz and acts like a petty teenage girl sometimes, he is a good person and he loves his comrades deeply. Yato is selfish, like Zabuza, but Yato wants to be loved. Zabuza wants power. Our Lord doesn’t need or seek power like Zabuza does. He is God, creator of the earth and everything in it. Like Yato, God wants to have relationships with his worshipers. Yato cherishes his personal relationship with Hiyori like how God cherishes his relationship with each of his children. God is a good master, even when we mess up.

noragami-11-7

Yukine isn’t driven by the same blind ambition to please his master as Haku is. It took Yunkine a little while to even want to do good for Yato. At first Yukine was a terrible weapon. He blighted his master over and over again. He acted selfishly in his teenager ways until Yato helped him to understand his situation. Yato had to almost die for Yukine so Yukine could understand that he lives in a completely different world from the other humans around him. He has a new life, and a new set of duties.

When I start to think about us Christians being weapons like Haku and Yukine, I think of Ephesians 6:10-18, the armor of God.

Ephesians 6:10-18

10 A final word: Be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. 11 Put on all of God’s armor so that you will be able to stand firm against all strategies of the devil. 12 For we are not fighting against flesh-and-blood enemies, but against evil rulers and authorities of the unseen world, against mighty powers in this dark world, and against evil spirits in the heavenly places.

13 Therefore, put on every piece of God’s armor so you will be able to resist the enemy in the time of evil. Then after the battle you will still be standing firm. 14 Stand your ground, putting on the belt of truth and the body armor of God’s righteousness. 15 For shoes, put on the peace that comes from the Good News so that you will be fully prepared. 16 In addition to all of these, hold up the shield of faith to stop the fiery arrows of the devil. 17 Put on salvation as your helmet, and take the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.

18 Pray in the Spirit at all times and on every occasion. Stay alert and be persistent in your prayers for all believers everywhere.

So, as this says above, perhaps we are not the “weapon”. God is the weapon, in the form of the Bible, and we are the wielders of that weapon. That’s more exciting! God has entrusted us with a great honor to wield the purest of all weapons, something unimaginable stronger then Haku or Yukine could ever be. As we are dedicated to our weapon (the bible) the weapon is dedicated to us.

“For God showed his great love for us by sending his son to die for us while we were still sinners.” Romans 5:8

You don’t get more dedication then that from a loved one. At first I was wondering if we were the weapons, but God is the weapon against evil. Jesus, like Yukine and Haku were so committed to the ones they loved that they both decided to give up their lives to protect them. Jesus gave up his life to protect us from the punishment we deserved. He is our master, he shouldn’t be the one who has to die! It’s the complete opposite story from what I’ve been explaining. This just goes to show, that our master is truly the greatest of all. He doesn’t care about that kind of story formatting, the servant dies for the master, he loved us and he did whatever it had to take to save us.

noragami54.jpg

Some people have faith like Haku. They say they’re Christians, but they don’t really understand what that means. Many others are like Yukine. At first they’re hesitant to follow Christ for various personal reasons. Still, it’s a good thing to think deeply about why you’re following someone. Don’t follow any one’s teachings without figuring out what’s the intention of the master. We see that many things went very wrong in history from people following leaders blindly. Over time, the more we follow Christ and understand how pure he really is, we fall more deeply in love with his teachings and his way. We want to dedicate ourselves just as passionately as Haku and Yukine do to their masters.

I’d like to think that everyone has a different spiritual weapon, but that’s just me being artistic with my overactive imagination. I imagine for myself, that as I try to peruse truth and defeat evil, the Bible takes the form of a katana and I can run about attacking evil. That’s an interesting thought. I want to take my weapon and turn my story into an anime. In that anime I’m running around town like Yato slaying giant monsters with bible listening to the Holy Spirit guide me. That would be quite a story. I’d like to know, if you had a weapon to fight evil with, what would it be?

 

