Sometimes I show my mother opening/ending songs from different animes I like, and then she tells me that they’re ripping off various singers from when she was my age. It got to a point where I needed to share this with you guys. Here’s the first instalment of “Anime Songs My Mother Thinks Are Rip Offs of Songs from Her Youth.” Enjoy!

  1. “R★O★C★K★S” by Hound Dog from Naruto vs. “Jet” by Paul McCartney & Wings

2. “Parallel” by Fumiya Sashida from Bakuman vs. “Steal Away” by Robbie Dupree

3. “Lay Your Hands on Me” by Boom Boom Satellites from Kiznaiver vs. “Take on Me” by a-ha

(I couldn’t find the real song on YouTube, but here’s a snippit of it in this scene. You can also find the song on iTunes)

This is one song that I have been seing people make the comparison to this a-ha song we all know and love.

Do you know of any other anime openings that sounds like songs from our parent’s generation? Leave your answer in the comments section!

