My sisters and I made mochi as a final project before I move out. It was their first time, my second time. The first time I made mochi was with my Japanese class during second period. It was so easy, we could make it easily in one school period with just the supplies they had in the snack shack. And it tastes so Japanese, which is a good thing. Eat it while you watch your favorite Ghibli film and just smile away!

My sisters and I filled them with nutella because we love nutella, but traditionally you fill mochi with red bean paste. In Hawaii, they put all sorts of weird stuff in mochi like peanut butter, and ladies and gentleman, peanut putter is great in mochi not on your face as a face mask. Don’t put nutella on your face either. I have to tell this to my best friend as well as my sister who just got it all over their face (one of them did it intentionally) and clothes and hair. One of these two then got it all their brother’s towel as he was washing it off, so this poor brother will have to take a shower with peanut butter all over his towel. Just eat the nutella or peanut butter.

I thought I’d link the process of mochi making because it’s so easy that I think every American otaku should give it a try!

IMG_3718

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups mochiko (rice flour) You can get this in the Japanese section at your supermarket. here in Hawaii, the Japanese section is like the whole store so I didn’t have a very hard time getting myself some.

1 1/2 cups water

1/2 cup sugar

Potato, corn, or tapioca starch for dusting. You should use a starch, but I used extra mochiko, so whatever you feel like I suppose.

IMG_3721
Three drops each!

Food coloring. Traditionally mochi is green or pink, but I saw the peanut butter mochi was very purple. I separated the mixture into two parts so I couold make two different colors, and I only needed three drops of color each.

IMG_3720

Step One: Put the mochiko, water, sugar, and food coloring in a bowl. Mix that sucker up.

IMG_3722

Step Two: In a microwave safe container, put the mixture in the microwave for 1-2 min at a time. Do this twice, once more for tell time if parts of it are a different consistency.

IMG_3723
These are my sister’s very tan hands. Unlike her, some of my friends say my etnicity is “transparent”.

Step Three: Wimpy mochi makers wait for the substance to cool, but it doesn’t work as well. Put that hot mess in your hands, cover it in starch, and start shaping it. Flop the starch on a plate or cutting board and roll the hot mochi around in it. The mochi will be too hot to touch, but be strong. You can do it.

IMG_3726
That my friends is TOO much nutella. You’ll need about half of that for it work.

Step Four: Make a flat circle with the mochi. Put A LITTLE bit of nutella (or whatever you want to fill it with. I do not recommend ice cream unless you are weak and want to wait for the mochi to cool down. But if you want to put fruit, or jelly, or coconut, or honestly anything that’s edible and you can fit inside that small space, then go for it!)

IMG_3727
I could pretend the mochi is a cotton ball and the nutella is a face mask

The nutella will melt and try to squirt out like blood so be quick. In this case, more is less. It’s a lot more fun to have the nutella inside the mochi in small quantities then bleeding out onto the plate.

IMG_3729

Step Five: Put the finished mochi on a plate and take hipster pictures. Then eat and enjoy!

This is a good snack that I will be taking on the plane with me. It’s super cute, but looks complicated to make, so make sure to show it off to your friends in your school lunches!

If you made mochi send me some pictures and let me know how it went in the comments below!

