All Might is the hero. He’s the one everyone looks up to. He can do no wrong. He’s the Superman or Captain America in his mythology, so he has a lot of weight on his shoulders. He is the definition of perfect for many in the super hero world.

Except, he is far from perfect.

Perhaps once he was “perfect” but after he received a devastating wound to his side, he lost the ability to hold his buff looks for longer then a couple hours. Basically, the hero everyone sees on the outside is just a fake. On the inside, he’s just a weak man who does spit takes with blood.

bokuhero_02_3

All Might falls short of his own standard, and he’s embarrassed because if it. He puts a lot of time and energy into hiding his short comings from the world. There are a select few in the super hero world who he lets see him in his weak state because his condition has forced him to depend on others to function as a super hero.

It must be incredibly upsetting for him to watch himself fall so far away from the position he used to hold, all while still pretending in front of the world that nothing has changed. For anyone who has to watch themselves fall away from how strong they used to be it’s incredibly heart braking.

It was very difficult last year to watch myself become weak. I started battling depression and I slowly watched my strength slipping away. I became a fraction of who I was before. At the time, I was just an empty shell of a person. Like All Might, I tried to pretend that nothing was wrong. I tried to hide it from everyone I knew. Mostly I did this because I had just moved to a new town and no one really knew who I was. I didn’t have a reputation yet, but I at least had some dignity to hold up. I wasn’t going to be known as a weak person like All Might.

But eventually, I couldn’t hide it anymore. One of these days, All Might won’t be able to either. So what is the point of hiding what’s really going on? Is pride really that important?

It kills me when people place pride above health. Pride isn’t worth quality of life. It can be very honorable to ask for help. Being humbled does not mean you are less of a person. It makes you stronger. It’s a good thing!

All Might isn’t as great as a hero as he could be because he’s hiding his greatest strength. His greatest strength is his weakness. It’s even in the bible!

tumblr_o5t2cqsmpo1ta5uuro2_1280

boku-no-hero-academia-02-4

The All Might of the Bible would probably be Paul.

“Three different times I begged the Lord to take it away. Each time he said, “My grace is all you need. My power works best in weakness.” So now I am glad to boast about my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ can work through me. That’s why I take pleasure in my weaknesses, and in the insults, hardships, persecutions, and troubles that I suffer for Christ. For when I am weak, then I am strong.” 2 Corinthians 12:8-10

How can weakness be strength? It doesn’t make sense. Well, sometimes, God doesn’t make sense.

Weakness is strength because when we are at our lowest point, then we can be used by God. When there is nothing left in us, then we are open for more of God.

There have been times where God gave me literal super natural strength. He can give you superpowers if he thinks you need it. His strength can make you appear to be like All Might, all heroic, but often times the strength he gives you looks different. It can be emotional, it can be simple knowledge, it can be encouragement. God’s “Strength” is not limited to the definition humans tie to it.

All Might has strength and the potential to be even more powerful then when he’s in his prime. If he were to trust in God, imagine what good he could accomplish! (There are many times where I know an anime would be so much better if the hero would call on God and not walk in his own strength)

One way that All Might is strong is in spirit. He helps Izuku become the best person he can be. He stares his strength, literally and figuratively making himself even stronger then he was before. He admits his weakness and allows someone to come into his life and make him stronger. How does Izuka do that? By honoring what All Might has learned over the years and putting into practice All Might’s character.

When we are weak, and we practice the character of Jesus, then we become strong. Even though Izuka and All Might are both weak, they become strong because they have a force outside themselves (each other, their friendship) that gives them new purpose.

Ask God to give you new strength and new purpose. He will honor that request.

 

Prayer

I haven’t blogged in so long because I’ve been struggling with depression and spiritual battles. Keep me in your prayers, but also tell me how I can pray for you! Leave a request in the comments and I would love to put you on my prayer “hit list” 😉

