It is very easy for me to trust God. It comes naturally to me. Many times, my family and I were forced to move out of our home while I was growing up, and God completely provided bigger and better homes for us to live in. All my life has been an exercise to trust God. It’s like breathing for me. So when there is a situation where someone needs to trust God, and they try to work in their own strength instead, I cannot for the life of me understand why. You either trust God or you don’t. There is no in between. (I also struggle with having compassion if you didn’t know)

Why is it so hard for people to trust God? Perhaps this is something I will never understand. But I want to tackle the issue anyway.

It is very important for human beings to feel like they are in control. Stability is a requirement in a fulfilling life. It’s hard for people to trust God because we want to trust in ourselves to bring stability. There is no stability in putting your faith in something you can’t see. Now, I know that Christians would argue with me that there is, but in my opinion, if faith and stability were in any way related to each other, they would cancel each other out. Faith is trusting that you don’t need your own stability.

Boku-Dake-03-49-1280x720

Is it easier to trust in humans, who you know are sinful and will fail you, or a God who you can’t see or hear? When you don’t know what God’s will is and you don’t have a close personal relationship with him, faith is the hardest thing in the world. Why is it easier to trust in people then it is to trust in God who will never fail us? There are so many anime characters who paint faith so beautifully. I can’t choose which example to use! In Erased, why did Hinazuki hope in Satoru? Why did all the Kiznaivers rely on each other even though they were so different from each other? Why do we willingly give away faith?

Humanity was wired with the ability to put trust into people. We’re supposed to practice it, but that doesn’t mean it isn’t hard. It’s easier to put your confidence in someone who’s motives you understand. Hinazuki saw the pure intentions and dedication Satoru had for her and she returned the favor by following his protection. The Kiznaivers got to know each other on a very personal level being connected through pain and all, so it was very easy for them to see the raw humanity in each other and understand one another. Naruto puts dedication into his friends because they’re connected to each other by one specific thing – the will of fire.

lyTNxJr

When you know they person well, it’s easier to trust. So maybe we don’t trust God because we don’t know him well enough. We can’t hear him. The Kiznaivers all had a very difficult time communicating to each other because they were so different. They had to in a way, learn a new language when talking to each other. Being a Christians can feel like learning new language. There is a definite “prayer language” in our culture that usually ends in every sentence ending in “Lord” and “Father” and “God” over and over again. (I don’t pray like that, sometimes I laugh when I pray because I’m talking about something funny with God.) But God speaks our language! He knows the words our hearts cry. He knows how hard it is for us to trust him with everything. And yet he still loves and is patient with us. So God can hear us, but how do we hear him? What does he sound like?

For some people, God comes in the form of emotion. This can be tricky however because it can be heard to tell if the emotion is coming from God or ourselves. The way I know if my emotion if from God or not is by asking myself what the truth is. If the truth lines up with my feelings, I know it’s from God. God will always ask us to do the right thing.

So maybe the first step in hearing God’s voice is making sure you know what the truth is. Here are some simple truths to get you started.

 

  1. God loves you. (Romans 8:37-39)
  2. God has a plan for your life. (Jeremiah 29:11)
  3. God has provided salvation for everyone who accepts it. (John 3:16)
  4. There is Good and evil in this world. (Romans 12:21)
  5. God has defeated evil. (1 John 3:8)

 

Meditate on these truths. What do they mean to you? How do these verses change the way you think about God and his relationship with you.

For instance, if God really loves you, how does that affect your life personally?

What would you do differently if God had a plan for your life?

Do you believe that salvation in a free gift?

What are you going to do to fight evil?

What does it mean if God is powerful enough to defeat Satan?

God will hear you asking these questions and he will answer them in your heart. Maybe you won’t “hear” him the way other people do, but he will not forsake giving you answers. Just trust him.

